Bypoll shock for Congress in Andhra

Hyderabad : In a setback to Andhra Pradesh’s ruling Congress, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) bagged four assembly seats while the YSR Congress and an independent won one seat each. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had a narrow lead on a seventh seat.

The by-elections to seven assembly seats, six of them in Telangana region, were held Sunday.

The elections were caused by vacancies that arose due to the resignations of two legislators of the Congress and four rebels of the TDP.

In Mahabubnagar, the election was held due to the death of one independent legislator, who was an associate member of Congress.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.