Poll panel transfers 18 Punjab officials

Chandigarh : The Election Commission (EC) Tuesday transferred 18 officers in Punjab, including the district police chief of Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal’s home district Muktsar, in the run up to next month’s assembly election in the state.

Chief electoral officer Kusumjit Sidhu said four deputy commissioners (DCs), five senior superintendents of police (SSPs), one Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and eight Punjab Civil Services (PCS) officers were ordered transferred Tuesday following the directions.

The deputy commissioners replaced are those of Mansa, Moga, Barnala and Kapurthala, while the police chiefs were of Mansa, Moga, Patiala, Muktsar and Barnala.

Elections to the 117 assembly seats in Punjab are scheduled to be held Jan 30.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.