57 Manipuri militants surrender

Imphal : Fifty-seven militants of different separatist outfits today surrendered to the police in Manipur in the presence of Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh.

“The surrendered militants belonged to the People’s Liberation Army, the National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Khaplang, the United National Liberation Front and some other outfits,” Manipur police chief Y. Joykumar Singh told reporters.

The surrendered militants also handed over a large quantity of arms and ammunition and some incriminating documents.

There are about 20 militant groups, including seven banned outfits, in Manipur.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.