Physics Nobel Prize shared by three

Stockholm: Three scientists shared the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics announced here Tuesday.

Saul Perlmutter and Adam G. Riess, from the US, shared the honour with Brian P. Schmidt from Australia.

Perlmutter was honoured for his contributions to the Supernova Cosmology Project and Riess “for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe through observations of distant supernovae”.

Schmidt is associated with the High-z Supernova Search Team in Australia, Xinhua reported.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.