Major Brar, Moudgil win Raid de Himalaya-2009

wsbazgocitadelShimla: The 11th Raid that concluded at Srinagar on Monday had Major AS Brar clocking in with 3 hours, 46 minutes and 57 seconds of penalty time turning up as the winner at one of the toughest cross-country mountain rally in the world.

Captain Nishant Karki with 4.03.44 penalty points was second and Amartej Pal Singh Buwal with 4.06.28 penalty points in a tight finish ended up in third position.

Manali lad and winner of last four Raids’ – Suresh Rana could not make it past Leg 5 and was knocked out of a final position in the rally. Only a dozen 4 wheel vehicles in the X-treme drive ended up at the finish line in Srinagar.

wsmanjrekarAshish Saurabh Moudgil, however, was not prepared to give up his last year’s title and again ended up winning the X-reme ride among the motorcyclists. Moudgil was a clear winner with a total of just 2.42.24 penalty points

Gurpinder Sarao with 3.54.06 penalty points finished the Raid in second position and Chandigarh based rallyist Sandeep Singh Matharu with 4.18.55 penalty points ended up in third position.

Just about 8 riders finished the 11th Raid in the category.

The final leg begun early at Rangum and went around Panikher, through Kargil and ended up at Srinagar.

Of the 17 competitors in the 4 wheel category that were still in the race at the start of Leg 5, five of them; Harpreet Singh Bawa, Mj Shakti Bajaj, Randeep Miglani, Gurdeep Grewal and Suresh Rana could not complete the touch and back route between Rangdum-Padum-Rangdum on Sunday.

Those who finished up at Srinagar were Captain Sameer Pande with 4.32.45 penalty points at 4th position, Colonel Nidish Bhatnagar at 5th (4.58.10); Lt Colonel HS Sidhu at 6th (5.46.05); Harkaran Singh at 7th (6.04.35); Gurtej Pal Singh Buwal at 8th (7.34.31); Anil Sharma at 9th (7.40.31); Shuchi Thakur at 10th (7.53.20); Mahesh Kumar Abrol at 11th (10.03.43) and JS Rana at 12th position.

All the 8 still in motorquads race at the start of Leg 5 on Sunday finished the Raid at Srinagar late on Monday.

Other than the top three, those who completed the rally were Amardev Singh at 4th position(5.57.37 penalty points), Yogesh Lakhani at 5th (6.32.44), Simon David Engelbert at 6th (7.10.32), Karna Verma at 7th (7.22.07) and Rupinder Singh (with 7.42.05 penalty points) at 8th position.

In the Adventure Trail it was the team of Prasad and Pradeep in a Mahindra Scorpio with only 8.22 penalty points who ended up winning the rally.

In second position it was the team of Raheja and Raheja with 16:41 penalty points and in third position it was Chanda and Mehta with a total of 22:57 penalty points.

In all 33 team ended up completing the Adventure Trail rally that has caught the fancy of amateur speedsters.

Join the Conversation


Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.