7 more enter Lok Sabha fray in Himachal Pradesh

Shimla: With filing of seven nominations on Wednesday, total number of candidates who have entered the fray for the four seats in the state has gone up to twenty-five.

Chief electoral officer, Anil Kumar Khachi disclosed that Thakur Singh, a resident of Sundernagar tehsil filed his papers as a Rashtriya Raksha Dal candidate for the Mandi seat.

For Shimla reserved seat, Som Nath and his son Chaman Lal, residents of village Majra in Nalagarh tehsil filed their papers as Bahujan Samaj Party Party candidates.

In Hamirpur parliament seat, being contested by Anurag Thakur, son of chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumla as many as three independents entered the fray today. Rajender Sharma, a resident of Muhi village in Kangra district, Sandeep Sharma, a resident of Dihar village in Una district and Vivender Kumar, a resident of Nunahali village in Bilaspur district filed their nomination papers as independent candidates, Khachi said.

For the Kangra seat, Dhani Ram, a resident of Nanahar village under Palampur tehsil filed his papers as an independent candidate.

Other than Anurag Thakur from Hamirpur, BJP has entered Virinder Kashyap from Shimla, Rajan Sushant from Kangra and Maheshwar Singh from Mandi.

From congress, the main adversary in the state, Dhani Ram Shandil is contesting for a third term from Shimla, Narinder Thakur has entered the fray from Hamirpur and their nominated candidates Chander Kumar for Kangra and former chief minister Virbhadra Singh for Mandi are yet to file their papers.

Tags from the story
, ,
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.