ABVP Win HPU Students Council Elections

Akhil Bharitya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) swept elections to the HPU student council body winning four of the five seats that were under contest and conceded only one to rival Students Federation of India (SFI).

Vivek Dogra from the university law school won as secretary while Anupma Guleria from Mandi College won the position of Joint-secretary. Both belong to ABVP.

Of the three executive committee seats contested, Manuj Tehran of MCM DAV College Kangra and Nishant Sharma of Government College Chamba, who were backed by ABVP won. Sachin Kumar of Sanjuli Government College was the lone SFI winner on the students council.

Election returning officer Rattan Singh stated that the result was subject to a ruling from the High Court as a writ petition on the matter was pending before the court.

The students council elections are being held after a long gap and all colleges affiliated to the university participate in the mandate handed out.

As Editor, Ravinder Makhaik leads a team of media professionals at Hill Post. Spanning a career of over two decades in mass communication, as a Documentary Filmmaker, TV journalist, Print Media journalist and with Online & Social Media, he brings with him a vast experience. He lives in Shimla.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.