12 teachers conferred with State Awards on Teachers Day

Shimla: As many as 12 teachers were conferred awards and other honours by Governor Prabha Rau on the occasion of Teachers’ Day yesterday.

Praising Dr. Radhakrishanan as a paragon of teaching, besides being a philosopher and a great thinker, she said that Teachers Day is an opportunity to introspect on thr role of teachers and quality of education. She asked the community of teachers to dedicate themsleves to upbringing the standard of education and instill moral values in children.

At a function held this evening at Raj Bhawan, the teachers who were conferred state awards are Dr Shyam Singh, TGT at Government Senior Secondary School, Bartu (Shimla); Mast Ram Sharma (C&V) at GSSS Chandi (Solan); Sohan Lal Dogra (C&V) at Government Middle School, Jandpur (Kangra), and Bhim Dutt of Government Primary School, Malgaon (Sirmour). The awardee teachers were given a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each, besides a citation and medal.

The Governor also honoured Prem Chand Aggarwal, a teacher at Government Primary School, Barwas (Sirmour); Yudhistra Mehta, teacher a GCPS (Girls), Solan; Roshan Lal Sharma, lecturer in economics, Government Senior Secondary School (Boys), Una, who had won the National Award in 2006, with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each.

Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal and Education Minister I.D. Dhiman were also present on the occasion.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.