Landslide Victory For Anurag Thakur In Himachal By-election

The young Bhartiya Janta Party candidate, Anurag Singh Thakur, was declared elected from Hamirpur Parliamentary Constituency defeating the veteran congressman OP Rattan by a record margin of 1,74,666 votes.

Chief electoral officer Manisha Nanda disclosed that out of 5,85,433 votes polled Anurag Singh Thakur got 3,74,339 votes, whereas Rattan of INC received 1,99,673 votes.

Rattan Chand Kaundal of Bahujan Shakti Party received 4937 votes, while independent candidate Amin Chand received 6484 votes.

Photo by Yash Raj Sharma

As Editor, Ravinder Makhaik leads a team of media professionals at Hill Post. Spanning a career of over two decades in mass communication, as a Documentary Filmmaker, TV journalist, Print Media journalist and with Online & Social Media, he brings with him a vast experience. He lives in Shimla.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.