More than Two Hundred Candidates filed nominations

Shimla: On the penultimate day to file nomination papers for the second phase of Assembly Elections, as many as 208 candidates filed nomination papers today. This figure contributes to total 281 candidates, who have filed papers till date for 65 constituency seats.

Dhumal Files Nominations Papers
(Photo by Pradeep Sisodia)
Today’s filing of nominations catered many prominent names like Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh from Rohru, Prem Kumar Dhumal the BJP leader from Bamsan and BSP leader Vijay Singh Mankotia from Dharamshala.

Along with these names came many other important leaders, like from congress: Vidya Stokes from Kumarsain, GS Bali from Nagrota, Kaul Singh Thakur from Darang, Speaker Gangu Ram Musafir from Pachhad, Sujjan Singh Pathania from Jawali, Raj Krishan Gaur from Kullu and Harwardhan Chauhan from Shillai.

And, important leaders from the BJP to file papers were: Narender Bragta from Jubbal-Kotkhai, Suresh Bhardwaj from Shimla, Khushi Ram Balnahta from Rohru, , Urmil Thakur from Hamirpur, Shyama Sharma from Nahan, Krishan Kapoor from Dharamshala, Randhir Sharma from Kot Kehloor, JP Nadda from Bilaspur, Rajan Sushant from Jawali, Ramesh Dhawala from Jwalamukhi, and Rajiv Bindal from Solan.

To juice up the number of candidates, who filed nomination papers from some districts can be seen as following:

Kangra (16 seats) – 56

Shimla (8 seats) – 19

Solan (5 seats) – 18

Sirmaur (5 seats) – 16

Bilaspur (4 seats) – 15

Hamirpur (5 seats) – 20

Una (5 seats) – 14

Chamba (4 seats) – 9

Mandi (10 seats) – 37

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.