Congress Declares Candidates For Tribal Seats

Shimla: The Congress party has taken the start over BJP by declaring the candidates for the three tribal seats for which the polling is to take place on November 14 as part of the first phase of election to the state assembly.“All India Congress Committee has cleared the name of Thakur Singh Bharmauri for the Bharmaur seat in Chamba district, Jagat Singh Negi for the Kinnaur seat and Phungchuk Rai for the Lahaul-Spiti seat” said Kuldeep Rathore, spokesman for congress.

Though the congress in the current assembly has its representatives in all the three tribal seats but by denying the sitting MLA Raghubir Thakur the ticket from Lahaul Spiti could cause problems for the party.

When contacted Raghubir Thakur said that he was keeping his options of contesting the assembly elections open. “I am keeping my options open and will go by what my supporters ask me to do” said Thakur.

The congress party has alternatively been giving the ticket to Lahaul division followed by Spiti for the next term and this time around Phungchuk Rai from Spiti has been chosen as Thakur from the Lahaul division has run his term, said a congress leader.

Elections to the Kinnaur, Bharmaur and Lahaul-Spiti assembly seats have been notified, with the last date for nomination being 27th October and withdrawal allowed till end of the month.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.