BJP fields Tejwant Negi from Kinnaur, Tulsi Ram from Bharmaur & Markanday from Lahaul Spiti

Shimla: With both BJP and Congress having announced their candidates for the three tribal seats of Kinnaur, Bharmaur and Lahaul-Spiti, the battle lines among the two major parties are drawn out even as Bhaujan Samaj Party (BSP) the third player in the game has yet to announce its candidates.

Overriding cadre objections, the BJP central committee today decided to allot the Lahaul-Spiti ticket to Ram Lal Markanday, a rank outsider. For the Bharmaur seat, former MLA Tulsi Ram was named the party candidate and for Kinnaur seat, Tejwant Negi from the youth brigade had been given the ticket and former MLA Chet Ram has been rested this time.

State BJP president Jai Ram Thakur disclosed “the party has decided to filed Ram Lal Markanday from Lahaul-Spiti, Tulsi Ram from Bharmaur and Tejwant Negi from Kinnaur”.

Though Markanday was a minister in the Dhumal led government but he had come into the ministry on a Himachal Vikas Congress (HVC) ticket, the regional outfit floated by former communication minister Sukh Ram. Markanday’s ticket was being opposed by party cadres from the tribal seat.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.