President gives away Padma awards

New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee Friday presented Padma awards, the country’s highest civilian awards, to 54 personalities, including actors Sharmila Tagore and Sridevi.

Noted physicist Yash Pal and renowned sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra were presented the second highest civilian honour Padma Vibhushan while batting great Rahul Dravid and actor Sharmila Tagore were among those conferred the Padma Bhushasridevin.

Actor Sridevi was among those who were presented the Padma Shri.

Nobody was named for the Bharat Ratna this year too. The last awardee was late Bhimsen Joshi in 2008.

dravidThe civil investiture ceremony was held at the Durbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Among the dignitaries present on the occasion were Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Finance Minister P. Chidambaram and Science and Technology Minister Jaipal Reddy.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.