Elections for 58 Rajya Sabha seats on 20 March

One seat each  falls vacant in Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Haryana

Delhi: On completion of assembly election in UP, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa, the Election Commission has announced a schedule for elections to 58 seats that  fall vacant in April.

Formal notification for the elections is to will be issued on March 12 while the candidates can file their nominations by March 19. Voting, if required, is scheduled to be held on March 30.

The  seats falling vacant include 10 for UP, 6  each for Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, and Maharashtra, 5 each  for  Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, 4 each for Gujarat and Karnataka, 3 each for Orissa and Rajasthan, 2 in Jharkhand and one each from Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Himachal  Pradesh.

Prominent members of the Rajya Sabha whose tenure expire include senior BJP leaders Arun Jaitley (Gujarat) and Ravishankar Prasad (Bihar), Rajya Sabha deputy chairman K Rahman Khan (Karnataka), and former LS Speaker Manohar Joshi (Maharashtra).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.